top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureApril

Easy Valentine's Day Cards

Hi everyone! Happy 2022 -- we made it! I am so excited for this year as I have a lot of craft goals and one of them is to post more on my blog..starting with this post about the next major card crafting holiday -- Valentine's Day! I have created four cards using The Stamp Market Simply Stripes stamp set and filmed the video showing my process for one of them.


Below this video you'll find photos of the other cards I created, some notes on my process, and a full supply list. I'd love to hear from you so please feel free to head over to my Instagram at april_notes or my YouTube page. <3

-April





What I like about using this stamp set is you can use one of the stamps and a few different ink colors to create a really pretty background. I chose shades of pink because of Valentine's Day, but you could use any color combinations. Also, you could easily create multiples of these backgrounds in one go using a stamp positioner and leaving the stamp in place for each color in order to stamp multiple sheets of paper.


For the cards I used the below Simply Stripes stamp set by The Stamp Market. I love basic shape stamps and dies because I think they are so versativle. For these cards I actually only used the middle stamp (3rd from the left or 3rd from the right), and stamped it repeatedly using my MISTI.


This is the card I created in the above video. To add a little extra interest I used one of the scallop mat dies from the Waffle Flower A7 Lacy Layers die set to cut the background out after I finished stamping.




A little extra texture can be added to backgrounds by popping up a sentiment with dimensional or foam tape, and adding some jewels or pearls as seen below.



Below is just a side by side of the two different 'happy valentine's day' cards I created. The backgroudn are slightly different as are the embelishments but overall they are very similar.





For the next two cards I made only one background on a 5" x 7" piece of cardstock, and cut an oval from the center using a die from the Spellbinders Fancy Oval die set which is one of my go to's for creating 5" x 7" cards. I used the oval center piece on the card below, and used the negative piece on the shaker card you'll see later in the post.


To decorate this card I popped the center oval up onto foam tape, and created a scallop frame using the same Spellbinders Fancy Oval by using two of the ovals together to create a small frame.


My wonderful cousin gifted me some pieces of Tim Holtz metallic cardstock and I've been using the pieces like precious jewels..saving every scrap :) That is the beautiful metallic pink I used for the 'Paper Hugs' sentiment that I matted on the shadow cut from black cardstock, and on the center of the daisies.



The daisys are cut from The Stamp Market Daisy Layering die set that I purchased last summer. Not only are these dies amazing for creating depth on your cards, but I found I can make them look more realistic by placing a few of the smaller sized Stamp Market clear droplets right onto the petals. It makes them look like little water droplets.







And then there was the shaker! I used the negative from my 2nd striped background that I cut the oval from to make this easy shaker card. I really emjoy the "Paper Hugs" sentiment so I stuck with it, but opted to mat Stamp Market Diamond Glitter cardstock onto white cardstock instead.




To create the shaker mix I used three different elements:

  • Unicorn Party Mix by Sulyn (it's the small square confetti you can see floating around)

  • A chunky heart confetti gifted to me years ago by a friend, and the label to which I have long lost unfortuantely

  • Hearts I die cut individually from The Stamp Market Diamond Glitter cardstock using a small heart die




Up close the Diamond Glitter cardstock looks even better!

Lastly, the background in my shaker is from a pile of backgrounds I premade a while ago which is something I recommend. I wanted something other than plan white to stick behind my shaker elements and I went to my premade background bin and grabbed this. I think I made it with a mix of oxide inks and Heidi Swapp Color Shines, the latter of which is unfortunately no longer made but sometimes you can find some for resale online.


Those are all of the cards for this post. If you made it this far THANK YOU for visiting! I hope you're inspired to craft using whatever you have on hand and if you pick up anything I cannot recommend that Diamond Glitter cardstock enough. I think I'm in love! :)


Happy V-Day!


<3 April



Main Supplies Used

Supplies commonly used in my videos


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page