top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureApril

2020 Advent Calendar

Updated: Dec 1, 2020

Hello and Happy December 1st! I'm very excited about today's post because I get to show the 3D Advent calendar I created for two family members in celebration of the beginning of Advent.

For those of you who know of and observe Advent it officially began on Sunday. I am very, very excited this year because I created two 3-D Advent calendars for two of my little cousins. I wanted to give them something special, particularly this year when I can't spend time with them in person, to countdown until Christmas and to learn about the Christmas story.


Advent is a Latin word meaning "coming" and celebrates the coming of Christ as a baby for which Christians celebrate on Christmas, and His 2nd coming when we believe we will all ascend to Heaven. Ok, history lesson done :)

To create all the boxes, number tags and box holder I used an amazing Silhouette cut file from the incredibly talented Lori Whitlock. All of the little milk carton boxes come out of the base which is, can you believe it, made from paper and cardstock?! Link to the cut file in the Silhouette store in supply list below.

I filled all 25 boxes with Christmas scriptures and small fun surprises and hand delivered them a few days ago so they would have them in time for December 1st.



I had fun shopping at Daiso the Japanese dollar store as well as the Target dollar section to find all the fun little gifts I used in the boxes. An array of the gifs are is shown below before I unpackaged everything in order to fit it into each box.





In addition to little treats, I wanted to honor the Christ story, so I filled each day with a scripture pertaining to the Christmas story. @happyhomefairy has a great, FREE, Bible verse Advent Countdown for kids available on her site.

I finished off each box with some red and white baker's twine and then took a loooong nap because this was a doozy of a project. But I am so overjoyed with how it turned out and that my little cousins can have a small gift to open each day.


Hopefully this inspires you to create something for the holiday season!


<3 April

 

~Red and White Baker's Twine - https://amzn.to/39rfyIv

~DCWV Mercury Glass 12x12 Paper Stack - https://bit.ly/33so0Dk

~Black and White paper used from cardstock on hand. Any brand will do.



~Bible Verse Advent Countdown for Kids - https://happyhomefairy.com/bible-verse-advent-countdown-kids-free-printable/

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page